39:4-98.6 Certain fines doubled where speed limit is 65mph
a. The fine for a motor vehicle offense embodied in the following sections of statutory law, when committed in an area which has been designated as having a speed limit of 65 miles per hour, shall be double the amount specified by law:
R.S. 39:4-98, when guilty of driving at a speed that is 10 miles per hour or more over the established speed limit;
P.L. 1955, c.217 (C.39:5C-1);
Section 41 of P.L. 1951, c.23 (C.39:4-82.1);
Section 51 of P.L. 1951, c.23 (C.39:4-90.1);
Section 5 of P.L. 1951, c.264 (C.27:23-29);
Section 18 of P.L. 1952, c.16 (C.27:12B-18); and
Section 21 of P.L. 1991, c.252 (C.27:25A-21).
(1) Signs designed in compliance with the specifications of the Department of Transportation or, if appropriate, the authority having jurisdiction over the appropriate highway, shall be appropriately placed, by order of the commissioner or the affected authority, as the case may be, to notify drivers approaching areas designated as having a speed limit of 65 miles per hour that the fines are doubled for motor vehicle offenses in those areas.
(2) In addition, all traffic control signs and devices erected or displayed by the State Department of Transportation or an authority within an area designated as having a speed limit of 65 miles per hour shall conform to the uniform system specified in the most current “Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways, ” prepared by the Federal Highway Administration in the United States Department of Transportation.
c. It shall not be a defense to the imposition of the fines authorized under the provisions of this act that a sign notifying drivers that fines are doubled was not posted, improperly posted, wrongfully removed or stolen, or that signs or devices were not placed in compliance with the most current “Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways.”
d. The Director of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Transportation shall include information concerning the penalties imposed pursuant to this section in any subsequent revision of the New Jersey Driver Manual and the New Jersey Motorist Guide.